3 thoughts on “Goodbye, Facebook

  1. It’s going to be so good for you! I quit almost two months ago, and I dont miss it at all, and here is why:

    1. People on the blog write meaningful things…not talking about how the Arby’s clerk jipped them on their shake, or how someones dog just got groomed, or how someone is having such a hard time in this heat with their pregnancy…..I’ve got enough going on that I don’t want to be involved with others lives.

    2. a quote by Montesquieu says, “If we only wanted to be happy it would be easy; but we want to be happier than other people, which is almost always difficult, since we think them happier than they are.” which really seems to be the case often on FB….it’s just a brag book to have people who don’t have a lot going on in their life, make it seem like they are climbing the stairs in society. I couldn’t take any more posts from my “friend” who is on welfare talk about her next big vacation she is planning with her new boy friends, and using her child-support to fund the trip!!! Gah!

    3. You will find you have so much more time for yourself, and doing those things and not “updating” or having the world keep tabs on you, is going to be so refreshing….yes my house flooded, my house got painted and a new roof all in the same week, my husband lives states away and my dog just had surgery….so so I really need more people to ask me about it or keep tabs, or give me advise that isn’t going to be helpful by letting 500 people who really aren’t thats close to me know about whats going on? If I don’t call my best friends up to tell her I’m taking a shower because it’s a been a long day…why would I tell 500 people who aren’t that close to me….right?

    Good luck, and if you have the urge for social interaction, you have us!

    • I may go back on and clean the whole thing up so that I only see the news feeds of friends, but that’s just going to take forever. It just seemed easier to take an extended vacation for awhile.

Leave a Reply

