My Personal Narrative

Standard

As part of this “Literacy Course”, we are required to write (and publish) a personal narrative. This has been on my mind since decided to attend this three week institute. What was I going to write about? Who was going to read it?

I have plenty of other things to write about – My father, my step-father, my mother, being struck by lightening, being a pirate – if there is one thing that I have, it’s stories and adventures. Yesterday, I tried to spend my writing time writing about something else. Anything else. Durian. The horrific stained glass windows in my childhood home. The last thing I want to do is dwell on this subject.  The silence in the group after I share is deafening and embarrassing. But I felt disingenuous trying to write about anything else.

I really understand Rime of the Ancient Mariner now. Really and truly get it. I live it. I feel compelled to write about my experiences, to share them. It’s that human experience of wanting to connect, of empathy.

I was correct when I originally wrote that the seven people in this room are not my audience. The lawmakers are my audience. Rick Perry is my audience. Patricia Harless is my audience. David Dewhurst is my audience. Since I’m in a public place, I’ll refrain my spitting after each of their names, but I Certainly hope that my readers can feel the venom with with I type each of their respective names.

Yesterday, Rick Perry added abortion to the special session.

This is what he had to say about it:

“In Texas, we value all life, and we’ve worked to cultivate a culture that supports the birth of every child. We have an obligation to protect unborn children, and to hold those who peddle these abortions to standards that would minimize the death, disease and pain they cause.”

I am physically ill reading this. My hands are trembling with rage. Abortion peddlers? No one has ever peddled abortions to me. Just that word insinuates that doctors are so casual about the whole subject. Minimize disease and pain? What the hell is he talking about? Is this a reaction from that clinic of horrors (sorry – I’ve deliberately avoided any and all news coverage on that topic for my own sanity). Obviously, Perry has never had an abortion. Just who is he trying to save from disease and pain?

David Dewhurst is more of the same. “Texas is already one of America’s strongest pro-life states, but we can do more to protect the preborn. In the interest of saving innumerable lives, I will not leave any option off the table to achieve the will of the people during the special session.”

The will of the people?!?! You wouldn’t know the will of the people if they got off their asses and voted you out of office.

So, with this all being said, I think that I have decided on my topic for my personal narrative – I am going to take my testimony from HB 2364 and use that. It’s personal and it tells a story. I think it fits the requirements of the institute.

I am going to send it to my lawmakers and I plan and making personal visits to their offices – to force them to look me in the eyes, to look at my daughter’s footprints, and remind them that they represent ME, to remind them that this issue is not just about adoptions and birth control and abstinence.

For the next two weeks, I will be a priestess of Rhetoric, sacrificing my speech as burnt offerings to the gods of Ethos, Pathos, and Logos. I hope I can find the words.

One thought on “My Personal Narrative

  1. “Priestess of rhetoric” I love that! You are speaking for many women and they should know our stories! They need to understand our babies were wanted! They are only thinking about reckless sexual encounters, NOT us! Thank you for giving us a voice!

Leave a Reply

