Texas Senate Bill 5

Standard

perryYeah. I knew that Perry has people sorting his mail and that my letter probably wouldn’t reach him. But I still feel insulted.

So now what? I’ve edited my original letter down to 630 words, and I need to get it down to 600 if I want to submit it as a reader essay to the Houston Chronicle. I’m not sure how I feel about that. I’ve been rejected for publication many times before – but this is different. If this doesn’t get published, this isn’t someone telling me that my poetry isn’t good enough – this is someone not allowing me to speak, someone influencing the public though repression.

Again, I know I’m a little melodramatic, but I think this all comes from my father’s side of the family. My father has his representative’s names on speed dial on his phone. My grandfather would sit in the back of school board meetings with his dog-eared and tattered copy of the constitution (and had been known to interrupt meetings asking the politicians to show him where in the Constitution did it allow them to do that!)

I’m not a wealthy contributor. I’m not a lobbyist for a huge corporation. I know Rick Perry (spit) doesn’t give a damn about me, and I have very little (if any at all) influence on what goes on in Austin. It’s depressing.

One thought on “Texas Senate Bill 5

Leave a Reply

