Fighting Fetal Pain Bills

Standard

I’ve been so concerned with Texas SB5 that I haven’t been paying attention to my personal issues on the national level. H.R. 1797: Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act passed the other day and now goes on to the Senate. Think Progress has a really good explanation of the issues.

Of course, Ted Poe voted for it. Why wouldn’t he? He’s a God-fearing Christian who has four healthy children with his wife, so he isn’t affected by abortion at all.  So I sent him a letter telling him that as a voter, I wouldn’t forget this. As a woman, I wouldn’t forget this. And as a mother, I wouldn’t forget this.

I then e-mailed John Cornyn and Ted Cruz, again both Republicans, who have the responsibility of voting this bill down. I’m sure they won’t, but I felt that it was my responsibility to share my story with them and let them know that they represent ME and MY interests.

I got into a screaming fit with my father the other day about this. He still can’t get it through his thick skull that I had an abortion. Medically approved, but he doesn’t seem to understand that it was an abortion, and that these laws. for the most part, don’t distinguish between an elective abortion and an ELECTIVE abortion(the twenty week ban was removed from Texas SB5, but we expect it to show back up). He understands that we are trying to have another child, and this I’m scared to death that I’ll not only be faced with another fetal anomaly, but that this time, I won’t be able to legally and safely protect my child.

I just laugh at the idea that people want to protect my child from the pain of the abortion (mind you, her heart was stopped days before the procedure AND I was drugged the entire time), but don’t seem to give a damn about the pain that she’d be in ONCE she was born! There was a very real possibility that she would have pain so sever that narcotics couldn’t dull it.

I just don’t understand those who have no empathy for anyone else. Ted Poe’s reality is NOT my reality. Rick Perry’s reality is not my reality. They can kiss my ass.

One thought on “Fighting Fetal Pain Bills

Leave a Reply

