TMI Warning: Diva Cups?

Standard

When I was diagnosed with unexplained infertility, it was a kick to my ovaries. I am a problem solver at heart, so I was really hoping to have an answer to all of the BFN’s that I kept getting. Even if it meant IVF, at least I’d have a problem, an answer, and a solution.

But you don’t get that with unexplained infertility.

You just get doubt and more unanswered questions.

I have changed my diet. I avoid fast food. I eat organic. I take my extra folic acid and fish oil (soon to be krill oil). I have cut out all soda. I avoid corn syrup. I don’t eat hot dogs anymore. I make my own cleaning supplies to avoid the chemicals. I am slowly turning crunchy.

When I was in college, I had a failed experiment with the Instead Cup, but I think that had more to do with the fact that I was only 19 and had no idea what I was doing. I wasn’t grossed out about my own body (or bodily fluids), but I was definitely did not the have the patience to work with this. I know plenty of women who have had great success with menstrual cups, but I was satisfied with tampons and pads.

Fast forward to today. As I said before, I am slowly making the move toward a more crunchy lifestyle. And tampons and pads aren’t the most eco/health-friendly products out there.

I bought my first Diva Cup last month, I suppose in an effort to trick my body into pregnancy. “Hey, I just spent money on my period. This is your cue to NOT have a period so I can complain about wasting money.” Yeah. Didn’t work.

First of all, I had high hopes. First of all, I’m turning 35 this year and I’ve gotten pretty used to my body. No more qualms, right? Well…

I bought the #2 size since I am well over thirty. So, when I tried it out for the first time this week, it didn’t work. At all. I can read instructions, but every attempt just ends in tears. I think perhaps I should have bought the smaller size, but at 30 bucks a cup, I’m not too keen to drop MORE money on another product that still might not be right for me.

I’ve read glowing reviews that say things things are amazing, but I’m not there yet. Anyone have any experience with these things?

5 thoughts on “TMI Warning: Diva Cups?

  1. Are you using them for your period or after BD to keep the swimmers in? I used the instead cups for after BD for one cycle – hated them.They are so painful to take out! And I was always worried I was messing things up instead of helping them.

    • I’m using them for my period, but I’ve heard about people who use the Instead cups for fertility. I think we are going to continue abstaining for a few days before the IUI since the last time we did that, we got the sperm count ever! I remember the time I tried to use the Instead Cup, I could only insert it sideways and it never sat right. I cried. I feel like crying with the Diva Cup. I mean, I how hard can it be??? Obviously too difficult for me!

      • Me too! I know I’m “small” down there, but it was just ridiculous. I almost cried pulling it out. Worst experience ever.

Leave a Reply

