Crushed

Standard

One of my friends went through a horrible situation a few years ago when her daughter was dx’d with T13 at 26 or 28 weeks. She had to leave the state for her procedure. She was a huge resource for me when I first got my daughter’s dx. I may have mentioned her before – she was the first person I’ve known to fully come out and admit that she terminated her pregnancy for medical reasons on Facebook. I was so heartbroken for her that day – little did I know I would be in that same situation a few years later.

She contacted me today – she’s 17 weeks pregnant – to tell me that her unborn child has a 1:10 chance of having an open NTD. She has no idea what kind might be suspected. She has a level II ultrasound on Monday, so it’s going to be a long weekend for her.

I’m hoping that this is a false positive, but even just having this worry is cruel enough.

Supposedly, these birth defects are supposed to be rare, but how come I have two friend who have gone through this? (I don’t count my online buddies from the TFMR board on Baby Center since we are all there for the same reason).

This is just heartbreaking. One of my biggest fears now – that I’ll get pregnant again only to have to be faced with this same situation.

This just isn’t fair. It isn’t fair. Isn’t fair.

4 thoughts on “Crushed

  1. How heartbreaking to get that news just before the weekend. I truly hope the level two will show greater detail and there isn’t an opening. Please update when you can. I will be looking and thinking about her.

    Fwiw my u/s thought my tx was thought to have had many more problems including ntd. She did have SB but the other areas of heart concern were not the case once we got to the level two. I hope the doctors office just has outdated machine and a crummy tech. Fx.

  2. That is so sad! I hate that some terrible things happen to the same people over and over again. I had a friend who had FIVE miscarriages in a ROW and the doctors never figured out why her body was rejecting the pregnancies. She ended up adopting and getting her husband a vasectomy because they didn’t want to even be pregnant and do it again.

    • I just get so pissed off that it’s so easy for some people. Pregnancy is so nonchalant for them, so casual. It’s infuriating.

Leave a comment