Texas Preborn Pain Act, or HB 2364

Standard

HB 2364I gave permission for part of my story to be used as testimony on Wednesday under a pseudonym.

There is a part of me that wants desperately to give my real name and address to the testimony to legitimize my story.

I want people to know that this is REAL and that it happens to GOOD people and that while there is grief attached to this decision, I shouldn’t have to worry about the government trying the shame me.

I want to use my real name on this blog. I want to use my real picture.

But I know the crazies are out there. So I hide behind a rhetorical device and Pop-Tart Cat because I’m scared of rabid anti-abortionists who think they are doing God’s work by fighting to condemn my daughter to a life of surgeries, pain, and isolation. To clarify: I’m not scared of their God – just THEM.

I never thought I’d be a pro-choice activist, and yet here I am. I don’t know how effective I am, but at least I’m trying.

I’m waiting to hear back if I need to send my story out to more people. I want as many politicians as possible to know what I went through and that THEY REPRESENT ME AND MY FAMILY.

I am disgusted with Texas right now. I am embarrassed and ashamed to be a Texas. I can’t believe that my state, a state where I planned on raising my children, is doing this. I understand we are a red state and that I’ll always have to fight to protect my rights here, but this is despicable.

Leave a comment